You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 3, 2011.

At the conclusion of Wallace Stevens’s poem Disillusionment at Ten O’Clock there is a delightful description of :

an old sailor,
Drunk and asleep in his boots,
Catches tigers
In red weather.

Which invokes the ole saying:

“Red sky at night, sailor’s delight.
Red sky in morning, sailor’s warning”

Which Jesus mentioned in Matthew 16:2,3:

He answered and said unto them, When it is evening, ye say,
It will be fair weather: for the sky is red.
And in the morning,
It will be foul weather to day: for the sky is red and lowering.
O ye hypocrites, ye can discern the face of the sky;
but can ye not discern the signs of the times?

Always one to get in on a good reference the Bard adds:

“Like a red morn that ever yet betokened,
Wreck to the seaman, tempest to the field,
Sorrow to the shepherds, woe unto the birds,
Gusts and foul flaws to herdmen and to herds.”

-Will Shaksper, Venus and Adonis

Follow me on the Twittah

  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 22 hours ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 22 hours ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 1 day ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 3 days ago
  • When will Science tell me that white bread is healthy than that gross grainy stuff? I really want to look down on you people. 3 days ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 465 other followers

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers