You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 11, 2012.


Eleanor Ross Taylor : 1920-2011

When I was two feet tall
and held the hand above,
how could I know
how far that limping bond would go,
that finger-inch of love.

A beautiful poem by Eduardo C. Corral : In Colorado My Father Scoured and Stacked Dishes

A snippet from Yusef Komunyakaa “An island is one…counterweight to the stars.”

2 poems from Karen An-Hwei Lee, deeply mysterious : Song-Riddle: Asian Box Turtle and Song of the Oyamel

From William Empson:

The coxcomb bird, so talkative and grave,
Who from his cage calls cuckold, whore, and knave,
Though many a passenger he rightly call,
You hold him no philosopher at all.

Vera Pavlova’s notebook is not to be missed. A fav:

“How do I feel about people who do not understand my poetry? I understand them.”

Follow me on the Twittah

  • Youngest son's soccer team kicks more goals than the other team. Still loses. 11 hours ago
  • Hey buddy, nice purse. Yeah I know it's a baby bjorn & that you're an amazing dad, but the thing is you'll never catch me in that thing. 2 days ago
  • To forestall my midlife crisis, my wife is allowing me to put a racers stripe on the mini van. 3 days ago
  • I don't care if you think I'm crude & sexist, if I see you with two large coffee mugs and you're my wife I'm going to say, "Hey, nice mugs." 3 days ago
  • My wife gets me sexy undies cause she likes me to dance for- oh here she is. She's shaking her head and laughing. Oh. 4 days ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

April 2012
« Mar   May »

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers