Paul Thomas Anderson on “There Will Be Blood”

I see it as a historical movie. The parallels are inescapable, of course, but at the same time… God, I hope we didn’t make a soapbox film.  It would be so corny. At the premiere I got asked a horrible red carpet thing where the guy wanted a sound-bite answer.

He said, “What is the film?”

And completely out my ass, I said, “It’s a horror film about the birth of California.” And I thought, “That’s a fucking good answer, I should remember that!”

Leave a Reply

