Mansion : A.R. Ammons

Mansion

So it came time

for me to cede myself

and I chose
the wind

to be delivered to

The wind was glad

and said it needed all

the body
it could get

to show its motions with

and wanted to know

willingly as I hoped it would

if it could do
something in return

to show its gratitude

When the trees of my bones

rises from the skin I said

come and whirlwinding
stroll my dust

around the plain

so I can see

how the ocotillo does

and how saguaro-wren is
and when you fall

with evening

fall with me here

where we can watch

the closing up of day
and think how morning breaks

Leave a Reply

