You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 28, 2011.

“Past the flannel plains and blacktop graphs and skylines of canted rust, and past the tobacco-​brown river overhung with weeping trees and coins of sunlight through them on the water downriver, to the place beyond the windbreak, where untilled fields simmer shrilly in the a.m. heat: shattercane, lamb’s‑quarter, cutgrass, sawbrier, nutgrass, jimsonweed, wild mint, dandelion, foxtail, muscadine, spinecabbage, goldenrod, creeping charlie, butter-​print, nightshade, ragweed, wild oat, vetch, butcher grass, invaginate volunteer beans, all heads gently nodding in a morning breeze like a mother’s soft hand on your cheek.”

-David Foster Wallace

Follow me on the Twittah

  • For the low cost of solving World Hunger you can support Politics! 2 months ago
  • My wife thinks I'm doing a Jim Gaffigan routine, but I'm actually just repeating the word vodka in my happy voice. 3 months ago
  • My wife is in the Baby-Wants-Chinese-Food Trimester. 3 months ago
  • Wife: What are you working on? Me: My blood alcohol level. Wife: ... Me: BaDum TSS!* *[me falling into drumkit] 3 months ago
  • What do you call it when you use bourbon instead of vodka in a Bloody Mary? Oh yeah, an alcoholic. Right. 3 months ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 466 other followers