You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 27, 2010.

“Moreover, this is something that drives me insane when we talk about how illegal downloading is the enemy of all things good and noble and pure. The thing I didn’t say during that speech because I knew I had lost the audience, but that I really wanted say was, look. I understand if I say, “people want to download our work,” your kneejerk response is going to be “then pay me for it.” Everybody wants to be paid for their work, if for no other reason than so they can keep doing it. But for the love of God, give me 1/16 of a second between saying that and your kneejerk reponse to take in and revel in the fact that people all over the world are hungrily downloading our stuff because they have a hunger for it and they want it. I wanted to say, I guarantee you that down the street, at the poetry convention, no one is giving this speech. No one is talking about illegal downloading because no one downloads poetry. They all want what we do, and they want it internationally, and they want it now.”

[Legally download Atsuro Riley reading poetry from his debut "Romey's Order" here]

 

“I was more concerned with committing on paper a variety of abuses, such as overwriting. I will spare everybody a detailed discussion of all the overwriting that occurs in these stories, except to mention how distressed I am at the number of tendrils that keep showing up. I still don’t even know for sure what a tendril is. I think I took the word from T.S. Eliot. I have nothing against tendrils personally, but my overuse of the word is a good example of what can happen when you spend too much time and energy on words alone.”

Follow me on the Twittah

  • "I'm glad they don't make Fruit by the Feet, because I couldn't possibly stuff much more into my mouth," I said lyingly. 10 hours ago
  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 1 day ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 1 day ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 2 days ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 4 days ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 465 other followers

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers