You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 16, 2010.


Lines and a quote from Michael Robbins

The boys like the girls who like heavy metal.
On Sabbath, on Slayer, on Maiden and Venom,
on Motorhead, Leppard, and Zeppelin, and Mayhem…

and “Iron Maiden’s Number of the Beast will always defeat your irony.”

Sections from Tom Pickard’s Lark & Merlin are excellent, particularly:

cumulus in a tarn
its fast shadow
flees far hills

a wave of sleek grass
skiffs mist

my hand thought of her
a photograph
waiting to happen

A quote from John Tranter

“I have come to believe that the kind of meaning a poem has is like the kind of meaning a dream has: intense, loaded with symbols, quirky, personal, and obscure.”

and a quote from Rimbaud:

Oisive jeunesse
A tout asservie,
Par délicatesse
J’ai perdu ma vie.
Ah! Que le temps vienne
Où les coeurs s’éprennent.

A line from Jane Hirshfield : “Think assailable thoughts, or be lonely.”

I can see my future in Attilio Bertolucci’s Poppies

Linda Gregerson reflects on the past presidential election in The Selvage.

I love the second section from Euphoria by Sina Queyras

Follow me on the Twittah

  • What's more embarrassing: that I'm eating gluten free rice crackers for a snack or that I'm even asking this? 1 month ago
  • Youngest son's soccer team kicks more goals than the other team. Still loses. 1 month ago
  • Hey buddy, nice purse. Yeah I know it's a baby bjorn & that you're an amazing dad, but the thing is you'll never catch me in that thing. 1 month ago
  • To forestall my midlife crisis, my wife is allowing me to put a racers stripe on the mini van. 1 month ago
  • I don't care if you think I'm crude & sexist, if I see you with two large coffee mugs and you're my wife I'm going to say, "Hey, nice mugs." 1 month ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

December 2010
« Nov   Jan »

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers