Oscar Predictions : (not that the Oscars mean anything)

The Nominees of Importance  :

Best Adapted Screenplay (in order of adaptedest) :
Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner : Up in the Air
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche : In the Loop
Nick Hornby : An Education
Neill Blornkamp and Terri Tatchell : District 9
Geoffrey Fletcher : Precious

Best Original Screenplay (in order of originalest) :
Joel and Ethan Coen : A Serious Man
Mark Boal : The Hurt Locker
Peter Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy : Up
Allessandro Camon and Oren Moverman : The Messenger
Quentin Tarantino : Inglorious Basterds

Best Animated Feature Film (in order of creativity) :
Coraline
Up
The Secret of Kells
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog

Best Supporting Actress (in order of most likable actress) :
Mo’nique : Precious
Vera Farmiga : Up in the Air
Penelope Cruz : Nine
Anna Kendrick : Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal : Crazy Heart

Best Supporting Actor (in order of most likable actor) :
Woody Harrelson : The Messenger
Stanley Tucci : The Lovely Bones
Christopher Plummer : The Last Station
Christoph Waltz : Inglorious Basterds
Matt Damon : Invictus

Best Actress (in order of acting difficulty) :
Meryl Streep : Julie & Julia
Carey Mulligan : An Education
Sandra Bullock : The Blind Side
Helen Mirren : The Last Station
Gabourey Sidibe : Precious

Best Actor (in order of acting difficulty) :
Jeff Bridges : Crazy Heart
George Clooney : Up in the Air
Jeremy Renner : The Hurt Locker
Colin Firth : A Single Man
Morgan Freeman : Invictus

Best Director (in order of most deserving to least) :
Kathryn Bigelow : The Hurt Locker
Quentin Tarantino : Inglorious Basterds
Jason Reitman : Up in the Air
James Cameron : Avatar
Lee Daniels : Precious

Best Picture (in order of least likely to win) :
The Blind Side
District 9
Precious
Up
An Education
Up in the Air
A Serious Man
Inglorious Basterds
Avatar
The Hurt Locker

Click below for predictions :


Winner Best Sound Mixing : The Hurt Locker
Winner Best Sound Editing : Avatar
Winner Best Visual Effects : Avatar
Winner Best Art Direction : Avatar
Winner Best Costume Design : Coco Before Chanel
Winner Best Cinematography : Inglorious Basterds
Winner Best Film Editing : The Hurt Locker
Winner Best Original Song : Down in New Orleans by Randy Newman
Winner Best Score : Up
Winner Best Adapted Screenplay : Up in the Air
Winner Best Original Screenplay : The Hurt Locker
Winner Best Animated Feature : Up
Winner Best Supporting Actress : Mo’nique, Precious
Winner Best Supporting Actor : Christoph Waltz, Inglorious Basterds
Winner Best Actress : Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side
Winner Best Actor : Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
Winner Best Director : Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Winner Best Movie : The Hurt Locker

Snark n commentry:

  • Surprisingly, I think the picture that most deserves to win might actually win.
  • If James Cameron wins anything but the junk drawer Oscars for Avatar I will puke.
  • Meryl Streep did an amazing job as Julia Childs, but I think the vox populi will carry the award.
  • Coraline is well done, but Best Animated Feature was made for Pixar. Pixar will win it.
  • I went with Randy Newman because I’m assuming the voters still feel guilty for not giving him one for “You’ve Got a Friend In Me”, as well they should.
  • If Quincy Tarantino wins best screenplay the award will immediately be retitled Best Revisionist ComicBook Wetdream.
  • I really hope Avatar losses to anything in the Cinematography award, just so I can explain that the award is not for the most pretty backgrounds.
  • I wish I could opine intelligently about the Foreign movie nominations, but I’ve not yet seen a one.
7 thoughts on “Oscar Predictions : (not that the Oscars mean anything)

  1. Actually, Rems, we agree rather a lot. I’m surprised. I only slightly disagree with you on The Hurt Locker. If it wins, I won’t be sad…but did you even see Up In The Air? How many of these did you see? The Hurt Locker was fantastic, and deserves a ton.

    Our main disagreements stem from Inglourious Basterds. You obviously didn’t like or respect it, since you no longer like or respect Tarantino. You’ve made that quite clear. Therefore, you were predisposed to dislike I.B. I thought it was excellent. Flawed, yes, but excellent in almost every respect, including screenplay, which I hope he wins because I thought it was funny and brilliant and lots of other adjectives. Outside of that, I don’t have any major issues with your picks. At all. I agree about Cameron, though I think he will win some major ones. He’s James Cameron, and he made a crapload of money. That equals Oscars, which is why they don’t mean anything.

    Oh, one other quirk in your list – I couldn’t really figure out if the most likable was the first one you listed. If so, are you serious about Mo’nique? I didn’t see the movie, but I don’t have to, and I don’t want to. If she wins, I’m gonna pull a Remy and puke.

  2. The Oscars stand for “entertaining/heartwarming/fading” and in that light, yes, Up in the Air is worth an Oscar. I somewhat root for them to be more than that.

    I never liked Tarantino and hardly respect him. If there is ever an Oscar for Infantile Homage or Rejagulous Violence then I’ll vote for him every year.

    As for my “most likable” I meant, most likable as an actor/actress. Taken that way Mo’nique wins in spades.

  3. Up in the Air is certainly more than that.

    You can invent as many insulting, unfunny euphemisms for Tarantino as you like, it’s still not going to help your argument. And you never liked him? Really? You’re playing that card? I could have sworn I remembered evidence to the contrary, but perhaps not. Ah well. Sad.

    If you are serious about Mo’nique, then I can’t argue with you any more about any of this. Yeesh.

  4. Pulp Fiction is about the only thing I’d speak well of, but even then I’m not sure I’ll ever watch it again. But no, I never liked him and have been an outright critic since Kill Bill.

    Man, how do you look at pictures of Mo’nique and not get the sense that she’s a very very pleasant person to be around?

  5. Yeah, I know you’ve been a critic since Kill Bill. I thought I remembered several Idaho conversations that suggested you were a fan, but I could be thinking of someone else.

    PLEASE tell me you’re yanking my chain about Mo’nique. It is really hard to tell in an online format (in person, I would be able to read a flash of a grin, or the lack there of). I might have thrown up in my mouth a little when I read your last comment. I had many a student like that when I taught in a more urban setting. I repeat: Yeesh.

  6. Ok, I have a new topic. A Serious Man. How can this be at the top of your screenplay list? I’m seriously confused, 30 minutes now after watching it. I was bored, I laughed, I furrowed my brow, I nearly fell asleep, I yelled at the TV, and then it ended more abruptly than I can ever remember a movie ending. I’m not at odds with you necessarily – there were moments that I thought I might like the movie. But as of now, all I can think is just: “bizarre.” What am I missing? Care to elaborate on what you thought the Coen Brothers did right? Because I just don’t see it…but I’m open-minded. I WANT to like it.

  7. ASM isn’t a great movie, a good one, sure, but very originalest. The Hurt Locker and The Messenger get docked for being war movies, even if atypical. Up, while wildly original doesn’t cohere as well as THL and Inglor’us Bastids could’ve been conceived by a maladjusted eight year old… oh wait, it was.

    I wouldn’t read too much in the order tho, I just did it in a way I thought would be interesting. Mostly the joke is at the end.

Leave a Reply

