You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 1, 2009.

The Prestigious Man Booker Prize will be awarded on October 6th.

The shortlisted nominees are:

Wolf Hall : Hilary Mantel
Summertime : JM Coetzee
The Little Stranger : Sarah Waters
The Children’s Book : AS Byatt
The Glass Room : Simon Mawer
The Quickening Maze : Adam Foulds

The judges are:

James Naughtie, a well-known broadcaster
Lucasta Miller, biographer and critic
Michael Prodger, Literary Editor of The Sunday Telegraph
John Mullan, academic, journalist and broadcaster
Sue Perkins, comedian and broadcaster

The odds are:

Hilary Mantel (Wolf Hall) 11/10
Sarah Waters (The Little Stranger) 7/2
JM Coetzee (Summertime) 4/1
AS Byatt (The Children’s Book) 13/2
Adam Foulds (The Quickening Maze) 11/1
Simon Mawer (The Glass Room) 11/1

Interesting Details:

Coetzee has won the Booker Prize twice. He would be the first three time winner.
AS Byatt has been a judge for the prize and has won the prize once.
Sarah Waters has been shortlisted twice, but has never won. Her books currently leads in sales numbers.

My prediction:

The Children’s Book by AS Byatt

[UPDATE: Hilary Mantel wins for Wolf Hall}

Follow me on the Twittah

  • "I'm glad they don't make Fruit by the Feet, because I couldn't possibly stuff much more into my mouth," I said lyingly. 4 days ago
  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 5 days ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 5 days ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 6 days ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 1 week ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 466 other followers

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers