You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 18, 2009.

stop_on_green_01

(image via)

Lines from Tony Hoagland (from “At the Galleria Shopping Mall”):

Today is the day she stops looking at faces,
and starts assessing the labels of purses;
So let it begin. Let her be dipped in the dazzling bounty
and raised and wrung out again and again.
Hailey Leithauser : “Was you ever bit by a dead bee” + some lines (from “O, She Says”):
O covetous tongue, O fat fandango,
O gnat tango in the hot, ochered light,
O wind whirred leaves in subtle inferno,
O flexing of sea, O stars bolted tight,

Kevin McFadden puns quite a bit, sometimes regrettably. There’s quite a doozy of a pun in his poem “Teeth

A fascinating Conceptual Poem from the inimitable Christian Bok : The Great Order of the Universe

Also the Clive James essay “The Necessary Minimum” is worth it.

Follow me on the Twittah

  • "I'm glad they don't make Fruit by the Feet, because I couldn't possibly stuff much more into my mouth," I said lyingly. 5 days ago
  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 6 days ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 6 days ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 1 week ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 1 week ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 466 other followers

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers