Ranking Radiohead : Albums

[I’ve recently updated this post and have added commentary]

In 1993 Radiohead put out Pablo Honey. On the strength of the hit song Creep they went on to release some of the best albums of the era. Critics compare them often to the Beatles with regards to their popularity, innovations and influence. The following is my ranking of their albums that followed Pablo Honey.

5. The Bends (1995)

4. Kid A (2000) & Amnesiac (2001) tie

3. In Rainbows (2007)

2. OK Computer (1997)

1. Hail to the Thief (2003)

For a similar list consult this Jen-sized ranking of Radiohead.

6 thoughts on “Ranking Radiohead : Albums

  1. You know, it’s a bold claim to have Kid A and Amnesiac as a tie. Most people don’t do that because most people just don’t really listen to Amnesiac. Would you say you’ve devoted fair time to Amnesiac?

    I just want things to be fair.

  2. Initially I would’ve had it: HttT, OK, Kid A, In Rainbows, The Bends, then Amnesiac but I listened to them all, multiple times again in chronological order. I subscribe to the belief that Kid A and Amnesiac was intended to be a double disc album, but was split up to fulfill contract obligations. Had it been released as a double album It would have to be number two on the list.

    In relistening my appreciation of The Bends doubled and my appreciation of Amnesiac tripled. Kid A lost some of it’s luster for me and In Rainbows grew on me more.

    I consider this a living list. Things will move as I listen to them more.

  3. Man, you almost got it right. You just had HttT and Ok in the wrong order.

    Also, in the humble opinion of this narrator, you ought to have switched the Bends and the Kid A/Amnesiac tie, but I’m not really a “fan” so what do I know?

    Also, I got to briefly revive my age-old tradition of listening to Ok Computer on headphones while walking through an airport the other day.

    Still pretty great, but better when you’re drunk.

Leave a Reply

