You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 31, 2007.

Though the darkness hide Thee

Australia -Baz Luhrmann

Be Kind Rewind -Michel Gondry

Blindness -Fernando Meirelles

Burn After Reading -Coen Brothers

Cloverfield -Matt Reeves

The Dark Knight Returns -Christopher Nolan

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull -Steven Spielberg

The International -Tom Tykwer

Wall-E -Andrew Stanton

Read the rest of this entry »

This is the list of A.O. Scott. There’s quite a few surprises.

His number one film 4 Months 3 Weeks 2 Days looks absolutely chilling.

Ratatouille is a brilliant choice for number two. Brad Bird certainly has it out for bland equality and mediocrity. The scene in which Anton takes his first bite of ratatouille ranks as one of my favorites of the year.

I’m a little surprised that he ranked Sweeney Todd up there with PTA’s “There Will be Blood”. Tim Burton has a penchant for going schlocky. Also I’m surprised that “No Country for Old Men” was not coupled with TWbB.

Glad “Das Leben der Anderen” (The Lives of Others) made this list. Bold choice in putting “Knocked Up” in there. I keep hearing good things about “Into the Wild”; it continues to strike me as a little Brother Bear. “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” doesn’t grab me, but I approve of Explosions in the Sky in the soundtrack. I will put it on the Two or Three Witness list. I can’t find the trailer to “12:08 East of Bucharest” or “Live-in Maid”. Anyone know where I can? Excited for “Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead” and will watch “Charlie Wilson’s War” only because of Philip Seymour Hoffman.

This is the list of Manohla Dargis.

She puts “There Will be Blood” at the top (alongside Zodiac). I can’t wait to see this film. There will be blood if There Will be Blood doesn’t come to Monroe.

Follow me on the Twittah

  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 1 day ago
  • When will Science tell me that white bread is healthy than that gross grainy stuff? I really want to look down on you people. 1 day ago
  • Ugh. I hate how sexist Harassment is. For the sake of equality I demand that the word when applied to men becomes Hisassment. 2 days ago
  • MY WIFE READS MY TWEETS FOR BIOGRAPHICAL MISTAKES AND IT FEELS LIKE SHE'S FLIRTING IS SHE FLIRTING I THINK SHE'S FLIRTING OH MY HEART IS BEA 3 days ago
  • The wife just informed me that the 4yr old is actually the 3yr old and that clearly I have no idea how time works. 3 days ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 465 other followers

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers