You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 1, 2007.

For those who bristle at the “Cummings’s” in the previous post I will defend my use of the second “S” by pointing at that it is customary to maintain it when you would pronounce the extra syllable. Whether you would say “Cummings-es” as well is debatable I suppose.

E. E. Cummings’s “r-p-o-p-h-e-s-s-a-g-r” is one of his fun language poems. With the mysteriously jumbled word he indicates that surprise flicking from the weeds, that reckless lunging grasshoppers escape danger with. The poem is simple but sparkles with those little surprises that Cummings loves to pull on us, the accordion image in the first line, the “who” in the second line, the see-sawing of the line fourth from the bottom, and the sporadic zigzagging of the entire piece. Also, for the hyper-attentive, the unique positioning of the tenth line that breaks down what in theatre is called the “fourth wall”.

Below is my parody, fashioned as closely to the original with a punchline all its own. I find this sensationally funny.

[EDIT: I give up. I can't format this thing correctly. The "S" and "a" of the tenth line should extend past the rest of the poem putting them outside the column of the poem.]

 

r=p=o=p=h=e=s=s=a=g=r

which

a>s w<e loo>k

upnowscatt

PPEGORHASS

ertingint<o–

The>:g

rA

!s:

S                                                                                                                            a

<l

aWnMoWeR .gRrEaPsPhOs>

to

rea<be>rran<und>gi<one>ingly

,rgashsoperp,

Follow me on the Twittah

  • "I'm glad they don't make Fruit by the Feet, because I couldn't possibly stuff much more into my mouth," I said lyingly. 10 hours ago
  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 1 day ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 1 day ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 2 days ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 4 days ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 465 other followers

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers