You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 17, 2012.

I was poking around movie posters when musing on Django Unchained and came across these three posters. Thought I’d say a few things on them.

 

That’s a nice movie poster. Wistful, pensive, the main character is looking back at his daughters because the theme of descendants, inheritance, is a major one. Red is a warning color, it sets us on edge, looking over his back adds to that effect. This is a well done movie poster than accomplishes all the artful aspects of what a movie poster should do. Of course, this doesn’t accomplish the business end of movie posters, which is GEORGE CLOONEY IS IN THIS MOVIE. Hence the next poster:

This is a monstrous poster. A hastily photoshopped Clooney who is looking off into nowhere (probably wondering where that second sun came from) misses the descendant aspect of the movie since he’s not looking at his offspring. He also looks unpleasant, something the ladies aren’t going to like. Plus that red might unsettle those that just want to gaze at Clooney’s beautiful face. Studio chief wants them to try again.

Ah, much better. Soothing blues, happy Clooney, no connection to the theme of the movie. Every good thing about the first poster has been removed. But at least the lighting is not absurd.

Follow me on the Twittah

  • "I'm glad they don't make Fruit by the Feet, because I couldn't possibly stuff much more into my mouth," I said lyingly. 5 days ago
  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 6 days ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 6 days ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 1 week ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 1 week ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 466 other followers

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers