You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 9, 2012.

via

Lines from Gottfried Benn:

A woman is something with a smell.
Ineffable! To die for! Mignonette.
Shepherd, sea, and South.
On every declivity a bliss.

and

Bring down the temple
by the yearning of your knees

and

Spill, spread, unpetal, bleed
your soft flowers through great wounds.

and

when my little prince
pokes his chubby little legs through the bars of his cot
it melts my heart

and the autumnal poem, full of slow glories, Left the House

The second part of Geoffrey Brock’s Alteration Finds (Defaced, After Rilke), reworking the Rilke poem Archaic Torso of Apollo, is quite fine.

Two lines from Eugene Dubnov’s poem Lips:

Yesterday I was mastering words
And kissing lips lightly

Music Box : Jorge Luis Borges

A line from Antonio Porchia’s Voices: “Man is a thing children learn. A childish thing.”

I’m really excited for SAID’s book of Psalms (translated by Mark Burrow). There’s a lot of mystery in the selection here, particularly the third and fourth psalm.

A little treasure from Marina Tsvetaeva : “I am happy living simple”

Paul Claudel’s The Day of Gifts is one of the most remarkable poems I’ve read this year. I’ve already earmarked it for my end of the year list.

Follow me on the Twittah

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers