You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 16, 2009.

Recently I was reminded of Walker Percy’s excellent essay on Bourbon. A sample is below, full article here.

This is not written by a connoisseur of Bourbon. Ninety-nine percent of Bourbon drinkers know more about Bourbon than I do. It is about the aesthetic of Bourbon drinking in general and in particular of knocking it back neat.

I can hardly tell one Bourbon from another, unless the other is very bad. Some bad Boubons are even more memorable than good ones. For example, I can recall being broke with some friends in Tennessee and deciding to have a party and being able to afford only two-fifths of a $1.75 Bourbon called Two Natural, whose label showed dice coming up 5 and 2. Its taste was memorable. The psychological effect was also notable. After knocking back two or three shots over a period of half an hour, the three male drinkers looked at each other and said in a single voice: ‘Where are the women?’ I have not been able to locate this remarkable Bourbon since.

Follow me on the Twittah

  • My wife hates it when I eat chips in bed, which is a ridiculous thing to get upset over. I mean, I hate how many chips get all over the bed. 1 month ago
  • HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION: Say you have a pic of your wife in a red "I Heart Cans" cap flashing a gang sign. Could you post it on the internet? 2 months ago
  • Really bummed cause I got a ticket. Asked the cop if he spoke Police-Latin. Upyay. 2 months ago
  • Wife just said that I should "exfoliate my eyebrows". She's flirting, right? That's the kinky stuff, right? 2 months ago
  • FACT: (Shhhh, the word really is pronounced "lysdexic") 2 months ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers