You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 9, 2009.

by Christian Pannier

by Christian Pannier

I’m a bit disappointed. The Translation issue is usually the best of the year, but this one failed to live up to the standard of the last couple.

Sergei Gandlevskii : Stanzas

Two sections from from the poems of Dahlia Ravikovitch:

An orange did love 
With life and limb 
The man who ate it, 
The man who flayed it. 

An orange did love 
The man who ate it, 

-from The Love of an Orange

and:

If I could only get hold of the whole of you, 
How could I ever get hold of the whole of you, 

-from The Second Trying

Yang Lian : Island #2

A couplet from the Cretan Folk Poetry Collection:

The everything of the world is zero, the life of the world is naught; 
It is from nothing to nothing that eternity is wrought. 

Victor Teran : The north wind whips

Biddy Jenkinson, an Irish poet, writes a poem of a Chinese mother binding her daughter’s feet. The first two lines go:

Pull in your feet, little darling, 
so I can kiss your wee trotters 

and I love the picture a Chinese mother using the phrase “wee trotters”.

Follow me on the Twittah

  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 20 hours ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 20 hours ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 1 day ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 3 days ago
  • When will Science tell me that white bread is healthy than that gross grainy stuff? I really want to look down on you people. 3 days ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 465 other followers

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers