Entertainment Weekly has ranked all working directors to give us the greatest 25 directors still working. Like many things EW does, this is pretty embarassing.

1. Steven Spielberg
2. Peter Jackson
3. Martin Scorsese
4. Christopher Nolan
5. Steven Soderbergh
6. Ridley Scott
7. Quentin Tarantino
8. Michael Mann
9. James Cameron
10. Joel and Ethan Coen
11. Guillermo del Toro
12. David Fincher
13. Tim Burton
14. Judd Apatow
15. Sam Raimi
16. Zack Snyder
17. Darren Aronofsky
18. Danny Boyle
19. Clint Eastwood
20. Ron Howard
21. Ang Lee
22. Paul Thomas Anderson
23. Paul Greengrass
24. Pedro Almodóvar
25. Jon Favreau

  • I could niggle with Spielberg, but since it’s one of the few respectable rankings I’ll let it pass.
  • That Peter Jackson is on the list is bad enough, that he is number two on the list is downright shameful. He’s on the list because of the four big movies that he’s done, three of them were Lord of the Rings. If that’s the height of cinema then hotdogs are highculture.
  • I’ve never been wowed by Martin Scorsese, it might be different if the man wasn’t such a mysogynist.
  • Nolan: five major movies, all of them supremely watchable and a couple of them are good enough to watch twice.
  • Soderbergh: the original overrated filmmaker.
  • I believe they’re referring to SIR Ridley Scott, director of G.I. Jane.
  • Tarantino has made four movies, a half a movie, and a quarter of a movie (granted Kill Bill is one really long movie). I dispise him, but I grant that he does have a manic energy about him that’s entertaining.
  • Mann is a solid choice, six major films under his belt. Two costume dramas (The Last of the Mohicans, Miami Vice), two dramas (The Insider, Collateral), an action movie (Heat) and a biopic (Ali).
  • James Cameron is like a rich man’s Michael Bay. Out of all action movies I count Aliens and T2 as two of the best. Interesting tidbit that I noticed, all his movies begin with the letter T or A (Terminator, True Lies, Titanic, (The) Abyss), and his next film is called Avatar.
  • I like it more when Coen brothers do silly stuff.
  • del Toro’s on here b/c he’s directing The Hobbit. I presume. Because he isn’t on here for Hellboy I,II, Blade II, Pan’s Labrynth, Mimic, or The Devil’s Backbone.
  • David Fincher is a legitimately talented director but he’s in the same category as Nolan in that I don’t really feel the need to watch his movies a second time. Outside of Fight Club I could happily never see anything of his again.
  • When I was a child I played video games as a child, I rode bikes as a child, I watched Burton movies, but when I became a man I put away all Burton films (except Big Fish, which is still brilliant).
  • Apatow has directed two movies: The 40 Yr. Old Virgin and Knocked Up. Let me remind you that EW’s adjective was “Greatest” and it modified “Directors”.
  • Sam Raimi directed three Spiderman films, some B-movies, and a few others. Most wellknown for incorporating nonactors into his blockbusters such as Stan Lee and Kirsten Dunst.
  • Zach Snyder has also directed two films: Dawn of the Dead or as the French say L’Armee des Morts, and 300. But he’s working on The Watchmen (aka Comic Book Movie).
  • Of course they have Aronofsky on here, it’s not like EW watches only action movies.
  • I like it more when Danny Boyle does the darker stuff.
  • Clint is presumably this low on the list because despite having directed over 30 films and winning the Oscar for best director twice he hasn’t done films as weighty as Apatow and Snyder.
  • I’m not a fan of Ron Howard myself but I suppose they had to include him because he’s also won a few Oscars.
  • Ang Lee is here because they saw all those white people. I’d include him on the strength of The Ice Storm alone, but Eat Drink Man Woman is worth it too. They probably have him here for The Hulk.
  • After 21 other directors they finally get to the most talented and innovative director today. If only he could adapt Aquaman for the big screen, maybe then he’d get more respect from EW.
  • Neverheard of him.
  • Once again, they had to darken the genepool.
  • Favreau directed Iron Man, Zathura, Elf, and Made. And Iron Man 2 is coming out, that means he’ll be ranked at least 15th next time.

Notable omissions: Woody Allen. Andrew Niccol. Terrence Malick. Wes Anderson.

Considering EW’s taste, notable ommisions: M. Night Shamalan. Michael Bay. Gore Verbinski. Bryan Singer. Robert Rodriguez.

