You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 5, 2008.

Magnolia” is one of those rare films that works in two entirely different ways. In one sense, it tells absorbing stories, filled with detail, told with precision and not a little humor. On another sense, it is a parable. The message of the parable, as with all good parables, is expressed not in words but in emotions. After we have felt the pain of these people, and felt the love of the policeman and the nurse, we have been taught something intangible, but necessary to know. That Paul Thomas Anderson thinks and creates in this way is proven again in his latest film, “There Will Be Blood” (2007). It is another film with an enigmatic ending, one that “Magnolia” teaches me I will have to think more carefully about.

Read the whole thing here.

rotj

Follow me on the Twittah

  • "I'm glad they don't make Fruit by the Feet, because I couldn't possibly stuff much more into my mouth," I said lyingly. 3 days ago
  • My profile will forever be 80% complete and Facebook hates me for it. Might start a group. 4 days ago
  • Stop Asking About My Education, Facebook, the Answer Is Still "Yes Please" 4 days ago
  • As I sat on the toilet I was attacked by a wasp. It was scary, but killing him really sped things up. 5 days ago
  • Not to brag, but one time I lost very respectably to a chess grandmaster and didn't make fun of how nerdy he was for many seconds. 1 week ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 466 other followers

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers