I just watched Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey in fast forward. For those movie buffs that are offended at this let me just say that I also read the screenplay. I earmarked twenty minutes for the reading and finished it in ten. The screenplay is all action let me tell you.

The first part is uproariously funny. I imagined the music from West Side Story. The monkeys danced Thriller in one scene. Who said this was a dull movie?

Iconic moments: The monkey scenes in the movie are reminiscent of an IBM commercial and a scene from Zoolander. Hilarious.

It does slow down after that. Even in Fast Forward. I click from x2 to x4.

When we hit the spaceship I slow it down again to Fast Forward x2. The workout scenes are great. I don’t know what the soundtrack was doing, but I hope it was Rocky.

Intermission hit. I laughed. Good one, Kubrick. You got me.

At the end of the movie the main character plays an epic game of Guitar Hero. He’s really good and goes to this really wacky level I’ve never seen before. I think he created the Horsehead Nebula.

Some might say that a classic film watched in Fast Forward is only half as good, but I disagree when it comes to 2001, in Fast Forward it’s at least 3/4ths better. Next time I’ll throw on a little Ludwig Symphony No.9 while I’ve got it on x2 and really get the full experience.

