You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 15, 2008.

Psychologists Betty Hart and Todd Risley found that there are “dramatic differences in the intensity and nature of the verbal stimulation the kids were getting: Professional parents directed an average of 487 ‘utterances’ per hour toward their children, as compared to 301 for working-class parents and only 176 for welfare parents.  The quality of those utterances was also very different: Among professional parents, the ratio of encouraging to discouraging utterances was six to one; for working-class parents, the ratio slipped to two-to-one; and welfare parents made two discouraging utterances for every encouraging one.”

From Dr. Leithart’s blog

Sometimes it gets to be in slowmotion.

“We are full of Sex, more so day by day. And at the same time we grow progressively emptier of masculinity and femininity.”

-Robert Farrar Capon, Bed and Board

Follow me on the Twittah

  • Thinkin about tweeting jokes again. If you think that's a terrible idea please set this tweet on fire. 17 hours ago
  • My wife hates it when I eat chips in bed, which is a ridiculous thing to get upset over. I mean, I hate how many chips get all over the bed. 2 months ago
  • HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION: Say you have a pic of your wife in a red "I Heart Cans" cap flashing a gang sign. Could you post it on the internet? 3 months ago
  • Really bummed cause I got a ticket. Asked the cop if he spoke Police-Latin. Upyay. 3 months ago
  • Wife just said that I should "exfoliate my eyebrows". She's flirting, right? That's the kinky stuff, right? 3 months ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers