You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 2, 2008.

The movie “Once”, an unassuming and underplayed musical┬áthat does without Hollywood glitz and even Hollywood actors, fits into a new category of romance that avoids the worn, warmed-over dregs of sentimental adultery. Like many of the short segments of “Paris je ‘taime”, “Once” sees the landscape and decides to mine the untapped narrative potential. We’ve been trained to root for two people to “hook-up” for no other reason than the camera lingers on the two of them the longest, we’ve been taught that adultery can be beautiful and is beautiful if the husband is a jerk or the wife is a shrew, but John Carney, the writer and director, avoids cliche and ultimately foils this bland desire and challenges the viewer to see the wisdom in avoiding throw-away sex.

Glen Hansard, the lead actor and the writer of most of the movie’s music, is the frontman for indie rock band The Frames.

Follow me on the Twittah

  • My wife hates it when I eat chips in bed, which is a ridiculous thing to get upset over. I mean, I hate how many chips get all over the bed. 2 months ago
  • HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION: Say you have a pic of your wife in a red "I Heart Cans" cap flashing a gang sign. Could you post it on the internet? 2 months ago
  • Really bummed cause I got a ticket. Asked the cop if he spoke Police-Latin. Upyay. 3 months ago
  • Wife just said that I should "exfoliate my eyebrows". She's flirting, right? That's the kinky stuff, right? 3 months ago
  • FACT: (Shhhh, the word really is pronounced "lysdexic") 3 months ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers