You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 14, 2007.

In our chapel service at Geneva Academy we use different prayers to distinguish the seasons. During Advent we’ve used prayers that are addressed to “Lord” but end with “who reignest with the Father and the Holy Ghost” meaning, these prayers are addressed to Jesus, rather than, as the model prayer, our Father in heaven.

Certainly there is nothing wrong with addressing prayers to Jesus or to the Holy Spirit, but the idea that the emphasis shifts depending on the season is something that has never occurred to me. In Advent then, we pray primarily to the Son, Pentecost is easy to line up with the Holy Spirit. Perhaps Ordinary Time or Trinity Season we would rotate. Any other thoughts?

Follow me on the Twittah

  • My wife hates it when I eat chips in bed, which is a ridiculous thing to get upset over. I mean, I hate how many chips get all over the bed. 1 month ago
  • HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION: Say you have a pic of your wife in a red "I Heart Cans" cap flashing a gang sign. Could you post it on the internet? 1 month ago
  • Really bummed cause I got a ticket. Asked the cop if he spoke Police-Latin. Upyay. 2 months ago
  • Wife just said that I should "exfoliate my eyebrows". She's flirting, right? That's the kinky stuff, right? 2 months ago
  • FACT: (Shhhh, the word really is pronounced "lysdexic") 2 months ago

The Novel I’m Now Reading

Join 467 other followers

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers